8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 2, 2013 5:32 PM by J. Simon RSS

How to do Rough Edits (Trimming) with out Rendering?

TRobz112

I am new to video editing. Most of my experience is in audio mixing and mastering. If you've used one DAW you've used them all. I want to know how to do something similar to what can be done in Adobe Audition.

I used to be able to import a file, say a .wav file, throw it in multitrack view or edit view. In edit view I can edit the original imported file, trim, splice, tweak and then save it raw as the same file it was when it was imported, as a .wav.

How do I do this with video? I am making a documentary and I have so much footage already. My brother is doing the bulk of the real editing, all I want to do is cut up the interview in these files to the little sound bites that I want to keep for the documentary, this will make the entire process go a lot faster.

I am using .MTS and .MP4 files if that makes a difference.

Thanks

• 1. Re: How to do Rough Edits (Trimming) with out Rendering?
          the_wine_snob Community Member

Welcome to the forum.

I would start with AdobeTV, and look over the tutorial videos on this page: http://tv.adobe.com/search/?q=Trimming&product_id=6&topic_id=&release_id=&t_lid=

Trimming is covered pretty well in those.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: How to do Rough Edits (Trimming) with out Rendering?
            TRobz112 Community Member

Thanks for the heads up I am going to look into those.

My goal is to do basic trimming so I dont have a huge file to go through when I go to make the final project. I am working on a documentary that will be around 20-30 minutes long. So I have hours and hours of footage I want to cut down. My computer isn't all that hot either. It is a HP DM4-1160US