8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2013 5:33 PM by shadowfax007

create "2 state" button?

shadowfax007 Level 1

Hi all-

I'm not quite sure if that is a correct term or not but it sounded close :-)

I was going to post this in the "Play more than one symbol from one button?" post since it was close but thought it better to start a new discussion since it is a bit different...

I have a "slider" button that I basically want to have 2 states (on/off, in/out, etc...).

I read and read the tutorial by Elane:

https://blogs.adobe.com/edge/2012/07/18/tutorial-leveraging-independent-symbol-timelines/

and almost got it but not quite. I got a bit confused since I am trying to affect the same object I am clicking (as opposed to a button to affect something else).

Here's what I want to do and here is what I have (I'm new to javascript so my coding may be all wrong but I think the concept is correct):

I have a symbol that is a simple "slider" button: more/less

I want it to start on "less" - No problem (I started it in the timeline of the main stage with a "stop"in the playback).  When I click on it, it goes to more.

What I want is when I click on it again, it goes back to "less" (play.reverse)

In the stage's "Composition_ready", I added a variable like so:

//     set variable slider to empty

sym.setVariable("slider", "");

And in the  "symbol" I tried to add the following code but It doesn't work:

//     get and set variable

var slider = sym.getVariable("slider");

if (slider = "") {

//     play the label in the symbol called in - the start of the animated slider - can I just set it to play since there are no other labels?

sym.getSymbol("deploy-slider-rectangle").play("in");

//     set var to on so the slider knows what state to play   

var slider = 'on';

}

else {

sym.playReverse("deploy-slider-rectangle");

//     set var to empty so the slider knows what state to play   

var slider = '';

}