4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2007 8:46 AM by capnwhitey

Help with Dynamic Slideshow

capnwhitey
      I am a Flash novice but I've been trying my hand at building a dynamic slideshow for a friend's portfolio site. You can preview the porfolio page here.

The arrows (prev/next) advance the images pulling from a directory using actionscript. I have attached the actionscript. It works quite nicely, but my question relates to the small thumbnails along the right side of the page.

My question:
      When a visitor clicks on one of the thumbnails, how do I get the thumbnails to load the corresponding image into the movie clip (or stage) on the left? Currently, all of the thumbnails are linked to the images using GET URL.

I haven't loaded all of the thumbnails yet as I wanted to see if anyone had any ideas before I start building the rest of the page.

Thanks!
      Jason

• 1. Re: Help with Dynamic Slideshow
          clbeech Level 3
          not bad, but a couple of things. The use of the keyword 'this' within your code could get you into a little trouble with scope. When used within a method it can apply to the Object on which the method has been called on, and not the main timeline scope, although it is still working for you here. Also it is being compounded by the fact that you have constructed your methods using prototyping, which further defines the scope of 'this' to the Object that the method is being applied to, again, still working for you here. Usually we would define 'named functions' (methods) to handle these oprations rather than using prototyping, since prototyping constructs a 'universal' method that comes part of the parent class that the prototype it is called on. With prototypes you can call a method on any instance at any given time from anywhere within the scope of your document, yet again, still working for you here ...