20 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2007 11:37 AM by joeflashTO

Button link to a specific frame in time line

TnaE Level 1
      Ok I have created my buttons and the content for the specific frames. I have named the button and given it an instance name. I have also given my specific frame a name and set that label type to Name.

Whats the code for turning getting my button to link to a specific frame?

I've also done the stop() code in each frame as I want it to stop at each frame until the button is clicked again.

I have more than one button and each will link to a different frame.

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Button link to a specific frame in time line
          DanelKirch Level 1

gotoAndStop(frameLabel);
          • 2. Button link to a specific frame in time line
            TnaE Level 1
            Thanks! Where should I put that? Do I need an event listener or anything like that with my buttons name it? Sorry I know, I'm a total flash noob.

I'm using flash CS3 by the way.

When trying to do it this way:

stop();
            home_bttn.onRelease = function () {
            gotoAndStop(home);
            }

I get this annoying crap:

1119: Access of possibly undefined property onRelease through a reference with static type flash.display:SimpleButton.
            1120: Access of undefined property home.

I've checked it time and time again and my button instance name and my frame name are correct. I dunno what the crap is causing the problem.
            • 3. Re: Button link to a specific frame in time line
              joeflashTO Level 1
              What you just showed us is AS2 code. Your error shows that you have your SWF set for AS3, which uses events differently. Set your Publish Settings to AS2, and the code should work. Or upgrade the code to AS3.
              • 4. Re: Button link to a specific frame in time line
                TnaE Level 1