8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2014 6:26 PM by Tonegroove

How can I assign shortcuts for navigation in 3D mode?

amin4real

I'm a 3D artist, and I've been using photoshop for texturing my models for so long. Now that photoshop has improved it's 3D features, It's making my life so easy, but there's a problem(other than the memory consumption).

I have to change my navigation from rotation to panning and zooming by clicking on the buttons on top, and for a long run it would be devastating , and I haven't found a way to assign any shortcuts to them so I can easily and quickly hover around my 3D model to texture and paint it.

I personally Believe that It won't be addressed until CS7 or some other version. I just wanted to share this question with you guys n see if there's some way that I haven't figured out yet!

• 1. Re: How can I assign shortcuts for navigation in 3D mode?
          conroy Level 5

The navigation is a mess despite there being countless 3D apps to provide inspiration to the Photoshop 3D developers. The effect of a given modifier key or combination of keys confusingly changes, depending on the mode of the Move Tool, and sometimes the wrong cusor is displayed. It's a no-brainer to allow the user to define behaviours for middle-button and right-button mouse dragging but these drags aren't utilised at all in Photoshop.

If Move Tool is active (not temporarily enabled as described below) then successive presses of V key will cycle through its 3D modes such as Rotate, Drag, Slide, etc.

While painting, navigation is possible by holding down V key to temporarily enable Move Tool.

Before painting, set Move Tool to 3D Rotate mode and select Current View in 3D panel.

Now activate a painting tool such as Brush Tool.

While the painting tool is active, hold down V to temporarily enable Move Tool and:

· drag in doc window to rotate view then release V to return to painting.