15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2013 8:05 AM by Matt Dubuque

CREATING A RECEDING RECTANGLE IN AFTER EFFECTS

Matt Dubuque Level 1

My apologies, but I'm kind of a left brained guy and sometimes it's hard to wrap my mind around right brain spatial problems that others find laughably easy.

I'm interested in creating this simple box with four walls through which one could view a video at the far end.  I don't need all the little videos on the side, I am just unsure how to create that simple box.

Would I extrude that in 3d somehow?  Can I construct it all at once rather than aligning one wall at a time?  I'm not too good with parallax and vanishing points yet.

What basic workflows do I need to master to create this simple box in 3D?

Thanks so much!  Rocket science to me right now.

Here is the underlying video from which it was derived; it was constructed in another program, but I'm certain this is very straightforward in AE.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvP6mFokVCETh

Thanks!   Matt Dubuque

Screen shot 2013-03-15 at 7.43.03 PM.png

• 1. Re: CREATING A RECEDING RECTANGLE IN AFTER EFFECTS
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Make an open cube out of 5 3D layers (leaving off the sixth side, the one in front). The back layer is the one playing your movie. Move your camera backward out of the cube.

Since you seem to be struggling with the basics, and you've said that you don't like to read, I very strongly recommend that you get one of the comprehensive video training courses for After Effects and watch it all the way through. Spending a few days doing that will really help you.

I give several recommendations here:

http://blogs.adobe.com/aftereffects/2011/12/video-training-providers-for-after-effects.htm l

I especially recommend Chris & Trish Meyer's Apprentice training on Lynda.com and the Learn By Video training on video2brain, in that order.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: CREATING A RECEDING RECTANGLE IN AFTER EFFECTS