3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2013 1:08 PM by Dov Isaacs

Data Merge File RIP Times at Print?

JITLLC

I am trying to find a way to reduce my printing RIP times at the printer when using Data Merge. I am new to InDesign CS6. In the past, I have used ID CS2. I was using the XmPie Standard plugin for CS2. I have yet to see if it is compatible. However, I prefer to stay away from it due to Data merge has fewer, but much more simple, and user friendly options. Most of my jobs require a static image in the background. A letter with variable address block, and an indicia. When it gets to my printer it takes forever to print one copy due to the processing. In the past I had an option to make a VPS file. VPS files RIP considerably faster. For example, When printing 10 records of a 4x6 postcard 9 up on a sheet of paper in a cut and stack imposition, that has a 615 kb file size. It took 2 minutes to RIP and Print 2 sheets of paper, normally this is instant. Multiply that times 500, 5000 and 10,000 records. I am gonna be waiting long periods of time to print the job. Are there better ways to merge, export, or print the parameters that are casuing these jobs to be so large at the Printer. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Data Merge File RIP Times at Print?
          Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee