9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2013 3:33 PM by Jim_Simon

Questions regarding hdd setup

witek1992

Hi there,

I just built a Pr/AE setup for my cousin and the only thing left to setup now are the hard drives. I'm no expert in this so I came to ask someone wiser.

So this is what I have:

1. 1x 500GB Samsung 840 SSD for os/programs

2. 4x 2TB Seagate HDDs set in RAID5

3. 1x 60GB Kingston SSD

I'd be very grateful for any suggestions.

• 1. Re: Questions regarding hdd setup
          JEShort01 Level 4

You did not mention that you have a hardware controller, so I will assume that you did the RAID 5 using a motherboard solution.

And, if I assumed correctly, you will need to break the RAID (too slow) and go choose 1) for speed:

4x2TB or two 2x2TB RAID 0 arrays

Or, if you must have redundancy, 2) create a 4x2TB RAID 10 array.

Kingston 60GB sounds old and slow, I'd move that to eBay or some other use.

Then...

SSD - OS, programs, Win7 swap

1 RAID - all other files (media, projects, scratch, cache, render outputs)

and if have two 2x2TB RAIDS: media, projects, cache on one and scratch + render outputs on the other

Regards,

Jim

• 2. Re: Questions regarding hdd setup
            witek1992 Level 1

Hi,

yes I'm using a RAID controller that is integrated on the mobo, it's a Intel X79 if that helps.

The 60GB Kingston is a new V300 SATA3 so it's not that slow I think it might be used for something.

I went with RAID 5 because of it's read speed and my cousin is a bit paranoid about disc failure so I figured that's a good solution. Why is RAID 10 better?

Thank you for the reply.

• 3. Re: Questions regarding hdd setup
              JEShort01 Level 4

Regarding my saying motherboard RAID 5 is too slow on Intel RST, it is a write speed problem when RAID 5 paritiy has to be calculated. Expensive (around $600, not the cheap controller cards) controller cards have dedicated processors to do this fast enough to keep up with the drives themselves.