10 Replies Latest reply: May 16, 2013 3:14 PM by Kar209 RSS

Totally Green Newbie has Q re: size & resolution for web BG

Kar209 Community Member

Hello:                                                                                                Level: Never used Dreamweaver just Ps & Illy Cs6 thus far. >  OS: Windows 7-64 bit 

Thank you for reading my post. I really appreciate your time.

I am new to graphics and I haven't even begun to delve into Dreamwearer ... though it is on my list of things to start right away.

Any way, I would like to make a background for a friends website. I have already made the pattern (from his logo) but i cannot seem to locate (via Google or here w/the manual or FAQ's) information about what size and resolution I should make the BG. The info I have found has been quite confusing. eg. some seem to call the height/width the resolution.

The website itself is a template and as I understand, it has a static/fixed BG. How does this play out for computers with differnt screen sizes and resolutions? Is there a way I can make the BG so that it (its aspect ratio) looks pleasing no matter if someone views it on a ...10 inch, 15, 17.5... etc. screen and on their mobile devices?

I have been learning to make icons with Ps & Illy and I have always set the Resolution to 72 but the other day I was reading about patterns and the author had his set to 150. I have read about Resolution but I'm still not perectly understanding when I should use what resolution. So, any advice as to what resolution I should set my background pattern to?

I'm hoping there's a simple answer.

I hope I asked this question well enough.

Thanx again for your time and effort!!

• 1. Re: Totally Green Newbie has Q re: size & resolution for web BG
          Ben Pleysier CommunityMVP

Have a look at this background image http://pleysier.com.au/images/bg.png

Then have a look at its application http://pleysier.com.au/index.php

This is the CSS for the image

body {