4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2013 1:24 PM by Vik_R

Is This a Good Font Combination for Use in a Novel?

Vik_R Level 1

I've moved my novel (description here) from Word to InDesign. Based on discussions in this forum, I've become inspired to look at fonts seeking a suitable font combination for it. 

For body text, I'm considering Feijoa.

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.09.07 AM.png

For chapter titles, I'm considering Giorgio Sans.

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.09.33 AM.png

Too crazy? Suitable/unsuitable for use in a novel?

Those links in the Feijoa sample between the "st", "ct", "ch", "st", etc. -- is it possible to turn those off in InDesign? (I'm very new to InDesign.)

Thanks in advance to all for any thoughts!

• 1. Re: Is This a Good Font Combination for Use in a Novel?
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It wouldn't tickle my fancy - but if you like it and it suits the mood of the project, then go for it.

Perhaps try 3 or 4 different combinations for 1 or 2 chapters and look at them all at the same time to see what looks best.

Have you ever read up on typography and pairing fonts - it's interesting and well worth a read

Here's one article that gives 4 different ways to pair fonts http://www.typography.com/email/2010_03/index_tw.htm

It's mostly an aesthetic personal thing - but take a look and choose wisely - I wouldn't continue without trying at least 4 combinations of different fonts.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is This a Good Font Combination for Use in a Novel?
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Vik_R wrote:

Those links in the Feijoa sample between the "st", "ct", "ch", "st", etc. -- is it possible to turn those off in InDesign? (I'm very new to InDesign.)

The name for this typical character pairs is "discretionary ligatures"; ligatures that are so typical, they do not fall under "common" ligatures. Indeed, usually one would not want these special ligatures in regular running text.