4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2013 4:38 AM by Kasyan Servetsky

How to import Excel data?

Janivo

Hello,

I am not a graphic designer however I hope you can give me an advice . Is there an easy way how to import a set of data stored in an Excel file (table) to a indd file? Properly speaking I need the text stored in an Excel table, for example in cell A2 import  to similarly defined place in the file. indd. I have attached file for better understanding.

Next I need to know whether it is possible to find an algorithm for above described act - it means that Adobe InDesign "understands" that each row in Excel means a single product and single cells of the row means parameter of the product.

Finally – if everything is somehow feasible - is it possible to import Excel data using existing graphical data designed for product catalogue or is it necessary to create a brand new file with pairing algorithm? Note: our graphic designer uses the latest version of Adobe InDesign CS6.

excel.jpg

• 1. Re: How to import Excel data?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

You may be able to do what you want with Data Merge, but that depends on how many products are on the page, and if there is anything NOT included in the data file that is also there in a product.

A more sophisticated option would be to use a commercial catalog plugin for ID.

• 2. Re: How to import Excel data?
            Janivo Level 1

Hi Peter, thank you. There are 3-4 products placed on every page and there is only a product image (graph) that is not inlcuded in the Excel data file.

I´ve found some links explaining Data Merge and it looks fine. I have tried to find more info about catalog plugin for ID however with no decent result plesase could you also send me the link for more info about this feature?

Maybe would you provide contact for somebody who is able to create the product catalogue in the way I want i.e. using Data Merge / catalog plugin ?