22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2013 9:20 AM by Yammer

Bringing out detail in clouds and snow

Yammer Level 4

This is a bit of a how-to-use-camera-raw sort of question.

When we were on PV2003/2010, I used to develop snow scenes by reducing Brightness from fifty to near zero, and boosting Exposure to bring it back to normal. This had the effect of stretching the highlights, and enhancing detail in snow and clouds. I guess it was a contrived Gamma adjustment.

Now we've got PV2012, I have been using large negative Highlights values, and been bringing it back by increasing Whites. I'm not sure it's as effective. The histogram doesn't seem to change much. I'm relying more on Photoshop plug-ins to enhance the highlight detail.

Can anyone suggest a way to achieve a similar gamma shift in PV2012?

• 2. Re: Bringing out detail in clouds and snow
          Yammer Level 4

Funnily enough, I started playing with Parametric curves after I posted. I used point curves back in ACR4, but got out of the habit of using them. I just don't think I can get my head around them. But yes, I'd completely forgotten about them, and a gamma adjustment is quite straightforward with a single point.

I've just tried a few images, and one thing I noticed is that changing basic settings—especially Blacks and Whites—has a habit of messing up curves' behaviours. Moving goalposts. I suppose Curves works on the output of the Basic settings.

What I could do with is Clarity sliders for shadows and highlights too :-)

• 3. Re: Bringing out detail in clouds and snow
            areohbee Level 5

Yammer, be aware: although PV2012 highlight handling is, in many ways, superior to previous process versions, in other ways: it's not.

See this thread - White Mud:

http://forums.adobe.com/message/4676164#4676164

Yammer P wrote:

I suppose Curves works on the output of the Basic settings.