3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2013 8:04 AM by John T Smith

Storage, where will it end ?

fincaman2 Level 1

Hello All, about two years ago I built a computer to end all my problems with an ssd for my C: drive and 5X 1tb internal drives solely for storage. Two years on and my C: drive is clogged up with Premiere Pro cashe files and several of my 1tb storage drives are nearing full. Can I delete or move the PP cashe files ? I am about to buy an external USB  bank of

5X 1tb drives to carry on when the others are full and if you bear in mind that I "SHOULD" be backing all this up I will need a further 10tb of disk space. I am just an amateur videographer so how do the professionals manage ? It seems that storage is way behind the rest of technology with ssds being expensive and small we have to rely on electro mechanical devices spinning round   at 7,000 rpm

• 1. Re: Storage, where will it end ?
          Jeff Bellune Level 5

[moved to hardware forum]

• 2. Re: Storage, where will it end ?
            JEShort01 Level 4

Regarding deleting the PP cache files - yes, you can delete them, and do so ASAP for your current situation, even if you add additional storage.

I have at least a few suggestions for your current situation:

1) Rotating drives really clog up and will slow down big time when you have more them more than 80% full

2) Cleaning out to get below 80% full on all drives and then de-fragmenting each drive will help a lot if you've never defrag'd (Windows may put parts of a single file in may separate places on a drive and when you need to access that single file, the drive heads are having to more around a lot; defragmentation is the process of putting the various parts of each file close together on the disk; don't degrag your SSD - then do not need this and it can even hurt performance for other SSD specific reasons)