10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2006 7:31 AM by dimival

Basic AS code in MXML question

Rendl
      Im a flex newb with a background of php. In php if I want to add script into my HTML I simply use the <? <code> ?> to do so.

So I could do something like this:
      <?php
      if ($value > 5)
      { ?>
      value is greater than 5
      <?php } else { ?>
      value is less than 5
      <?php } ?>

I have searched and have been testing with the <mx:Script> and <![CDATA[ ]]> block, but havent really found any clarity. Do I have to use both the mx:Script and CData blocks each time I want to embed some AS code within my MXML? Any examples would be immensely appreciated :)
        • 1. Re: Basic AS code in MXML question
          dimival Level 1
          In a MXML whenever you need to use AS code you put it inside the <mx:Script> component, like this:
          <mx:Script>
          <![CDATA[
          private function doSomething(): void
          {
          // your function
          }
          ]]>
          </mx:Script>

You need both Script and the CDATA blocks whenever you want to add AS code, but you only need one block per MXML, unlike PHP where you use a <code> block in different parts of your code. In flex you can add all the code you want inside one and just one Script and CDATA block and it will be available to use anytime, anywhere inside your MXML.
          • 2. Re: Basic AS code in MXML question
            Rendl Level 1
            Thanks Dimival,

I don't really understand how you could "use anytime" unless you were calling a function or similar.Any chance of showing how you would code the PHP example above?

Also one more question which is kinda of puzzling me. If I want to display a string variable in a textbox, how do I write that? I know I can make a bindable function. Do I need to set the string variable as a return value? Can that variable then be used by {function.variable}?

• 3. Re: Basic AS code in MXML question