23 Replies Latest reply: Mar 31, 2013 2:17 AM by osgood_ RSS

Question about databases in dreamweaver cs6

IVYY Community Member

Hi all,

I need to clarify that I am very new to phpmyadmin, mysql, and databases. This is what i am stucked with.

Currently, I have one table (book) which contains these attributes (ISBN(primary key), title, author, publisher, price etc) in my database (book)

I have the other table (users) which contains these attributes (username (primary key), password, name, DOB etc) in my database (user)

Let me explain the series of steps first. An user logs in on the log in page successfully, and he will be directed to the main page, then he will type or select his search terms, then the results page will display the relevant results in the master list, then he will select the specific result to go to the detailed page containing more information.

What I want now is to create a reservation page. If the user likes the specific book in the detailed page, he can click reserve it, and will be directed to the reservation page.

I intend to have these search textfields: Username, Title, Price, Number of orders.

How can I let the username textfield to be automatically filled as the user has logged in at the login page initially. Also, how can I let the title and price textfield to be automatically filled, as the user has clicked reserve it at the specific detailed page? I intend that the user just key in number of orders and press submit button. My 3rd database (reservation) will capture the info of username, title, price, and number of orders. Do i use insert record or update record?

Do i create a relational table in phpmyadmin by linking it with the keys from tables (book and users)? Will this be a many to many relationship? I intend my third table to have these attributes (reservation no (primary key), username, title, price, no, of orders and date of collection?