3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2008 12:02 PM by TAB68

LabelFunction called twice for first row of DataGrid

TAB68
      Hi,

I'm fairly new to Flex and have noticed some strange behaviour with LabelFunction when used with a DataGridColumn.

I have a DataGrid with simple XML passed in through the dataprovider. I call a LabelFunction on a column and found that the output from the function was misformatted for the first row in the column. I then put a trace in the function and found it was being called twice for the first row.

I can't find any info on why this is happening or even if anyone else has seen this and am wondering if this is something I'm misunderstanding? Does anyone have any ideas? I'm planning to use the LabelFunction to format data in the datagrid i.e. turn data from a number code into a descriptive string and this issue is causing me problems.

Here's a sample of my test code:

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import mx.controls.dataGridClasses.DataGridColumn;

private function test_labelFunc(item:Object, column:DataGridColumn):String {
      trace(item.@name);
      item.@name+="A";
      return item.@name;
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>

<mx:XML id="itemsXML">
      <items>
      <item name="Item 1"/>
      <item name="Item 2"/>
      <item name="Item 3"/>
      <item name="Item 4"/>
      </items>
      </mx:XML>

<mx:DataGrid id="dataGrid" dataProvider="{itemsXML.item}">
      <mx:columns>
      <mx:DataGridColumn dataField="@name"
      headerText="Name:"
      labelFunction="test_labelFunc" />
      </mx:columns>
      </mx:DataGrid>

and I get output:

Item 1AA
      Item 2A
      Item 3A
      Item 4A

where "Item 1AA" should be "Item 1A"

Thanks,
      Tracy
        • 1. Re: LabelFunction called twice for first row of DataGrid
          Arty13
          Try this...

private function test_labelFunc(item:Object, column:DataGridColumn):String {
          return item.@name + "A";
          }