4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2007 8:13 AM by clbeech

basic movie clip loader and load vars question

jungleseed
      Hello,

I'm a designer who knows only the most basic Action Script, so i'm muddling through a fairly big project and learning as i go. I'm using AS2, mostly, though my version of Flash is CS3 (i just don't know any AS3 at all to know where to begin, so i'm publishing all swfs with AS2).

The thing that's throwing me off is that all info in the site -- jpeg thumbnails, text labels -- need to be easily changed outside Flash. I need to use MovieClipLoaders and LoadVars to keep all text and jpeg elements as external files. The IT guy at the company i'm doing the site for needs to be able to swap out thumbnails and text info whenever he needs to update the site, and he doesn't know Flash at all.

So, the first problem is that i am loading multiple jpegs into different containers. i basically have 12 containers in one fla file. I need to keep them in separate containers because they need to animate individually. So here is the code on the first frame:

stop();

var myMCL:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
      myMCL.addListener(this);
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb1.jpg", "container1");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb2.jpg", "container2");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb3.jpg", "container3");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb4.jpg", "container4");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb5.jpg", "container5");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPthumb6.jpg", "container6");

myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPvideothumb1.jpg", "containerV1");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPvideothumb2.jpg", "containerV2");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPvideothumb3.jpg", "containerV3");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPvideothumb4.jpg", "containerV4");
      myMCL.loadClip("homePage/images/HPvideothumb5.jpg", "containerV5");