1 2 Previous Next 75 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2016 1:27 AM by Chase Chick

Which monitor is best for color grading?

sankoor2012 Level 1

I am new to Editing & color grading,i am working for films,using Adobe CS6 & davinci resolve now i am looking for 2nd monitor(reference or preview purpose) which one is best to choose in budget.

my monitor is dell 27 inch ips monitor,and what to choose second one ,is it a broadcast monitor or one more ips monitor is enough? broadcast monitor is expensive then which is best budget monitor to choose?plz help me

• 1. Re: Which monitor is best for color grading?
          cfg_2451 Level 2

As usual, it depends on what your purpose is. If your output is going to be web only, then a computer monitor displaying the sRGB working space is sufficient. If your output is going to be HDTV, DVD, or Blu-ray, then you need a monitor that can display the Rec.709 working space. That means a production monitor, or at least an HDTV (with the hardware/software to get that TV a broadcast signal).

Without a proper output device to let you see what you're doing, Resolve is pointless. My advice -- buy your output device first. Use it with the three way color corrector effect in PPro for a while. You may find that sufficient. If you outgrow the Abobe tools, you can always buy Resolve when you need to.

• 2. Re: Which monitor is best for color grading?
            lasvideo Level 4

For serious accurate color correction I suggest you talk to these folks.

http://www.shopfsi.com/?gclid=COK3js-Lp7YCFWunPAoda1kAyQ

• 3. Re: Which monitor is best for color grading?
              Jim_Simon Level 8

If your output is going to be web only, then a computer monitor displaying the sRGB working space is sufficient.

I disagree.  For proper color correction and grading, you need to see the signal accurately, and that precludes most computer monitors and software players.  This applies regardless of how the video will be distributed.