5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2013 2:02 PM by resdesign

Need some basic help with a START Button

argoNY

I'm just learning Edge and am under a deadline. I'm reading as much as I can, but I'm not sure how to set up my animation and do a very simple START.

I can't show the animation because the contents are protected. But it's pretty linear. I have a beginning screen with a start image and some text.

I've set up the Edge file with about 10 layers each containing either symbols that animate at different points on the timeline OR

Combined moving symbols with STOP PLAY controls at different points.

I will add a preloader, then I want the START button, when clicked/touched, to begin the (approximately 45sec) animation.

When I try it with timeline actions or triggers, it doesn't control the symbols on the layers beneath. They play when the timeline hits' their play command.

Should I put all the different layers into one symbol? I really don't want to have to re-time all the movement. I've got it pretty much where it needs to be. But I didn't do it programmatically, it's all via transitions on the timeline.

Seems like a STOP in the first frames of the whole animation then a CLICK on the START button should work. What am I doing wrong? How do I keep those symbols deeper in the animation from starting til their proper time?

I hope this makes sense. I've been reluctant to ask, figuring it's so simple I'll find it, but many posts and blogs get too far ahead of me and I lose the logic.

Can someone help please? Just imagine a 45sec animation with shapes rising (like bubbles) telling a story. But all the shapes are different symbols on different layers.

I just need instructions to hold on the first frame. Should be easy right? I'm doing something wrong.

Thank you in advance.