11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2013 7:22 PM by xenatorres

Keyframing tutorial?

xenatorres Level 1

I am trying to create an expanding pool of blood. I found this great tutorial:

http://ae.tutsplus.com/tutorials/vfx/quicktips-how-to-create-a-realistic-pool-of-blood/

However, this method only works with a plain ol' pool. I am doing a project where I need the blood to run down in a thin stream and then it expands into the pool (so it would look more like this: http://bearingdrift.com/wp-content/uploads/Blood_009_by_stock_ings_cut1.jpg)

This doesn't work using the quick and easy method in this tutorial with the mask expansion.

The reason I need to do this is because I am making a video projection of this blood that will be interacting with a large 3D sculpture (not in the video).

The guy who made the above tutorial told me I need to animate the keyframes instead - but for the life of me, I can't find any tutorials on how to do this.

I am using CS4, and I am a noob in after effects. Can anyone suggest a tutorial? Or, can I just make it so the expand isn't coming and going in the dead center, cause if I can change the position, I think that would work.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Keyframing tutorial?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Search the help files for Animating Masks. Search the Web for Animating masks.

Here's my quick tip. Draw the mask on your red solid so that the pool of blood looks like you want it to look when the shot ends. Move the CTI to the time in the timeline when you want the blood to stop flowing. Reveal the mask properties by pressing MM and set a keyframe by clicking on the keyframe icon in the timeline.