10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2013 9:42 AM by anotherTrishB

Can I create many short rough cuts from one large vob or mts file?

anotherTrishB

If so, how?  I am new to editing and using CS6 Premier Pro and Prelude.

• 1. Re: Can I create many short rough cuts from one large vob or mts file?
          SAFEHARBOR11 Most Valuable Participant

Not sure what you mean - do you want to create "sub-clips" perhaps, or just edit the clip?

If you just put the large clip on the timeline, you can easily chop it up with the Razor tool and delete parts you don't want, and rearrange the smaller parts that remain. Or Mark IN, Mark Out, and Extract. Tools for that are under the Program Monitor or you can use keyboard shortcuts.

Thanks

Jeff

• 2. Re: Can I create many short rough cuts from one large vob or mts file?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

I agree with Jeff, that more detail on what you want to accomplish, would be so very helpful.

I would have given the same suggestions, that Jeff did: Razor Tool, or In & Out Points in Source Monitor, or use of Trim Monitor. All are viable for "cutting" up larger Clips.

Now, in PrPro, what one sees on the Timeline is but a representative visual of the data from all, or part of the original Video file. One could open that larger file in the Source Monitor, then set the In & Out Points, drag that to the Timeline, move those In & Out Points, and drag to the Timeline, on, and on. While one has segments of that larger file on the Timeline, the larger file is untouched - and only differing Instances of it are on the Timeline.

However, I am not sure that is what you are asking to do.

Please let us know a bit more,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Can I create many short rough cuts from one large vob or mts file?
              John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>new to editing and using CS6 Premier Pro

The tutorial list in message #3 http://forums.adobe.com/message/2276578 may help