11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2013 8:14 AM by Jim_Simon

HDV = Grainy & Blurry Why? CS6

warmkiss

HDV Footage looks grainy/noisy after import to premier. The project was opened with the HDV sequence settings. I took a screen-capture from the raw HDV MPEG2 File in both premier and other programs/players and it looks fine in others but grainy and ruined in premier.

I exported some files, they look Decent in 720p but blurry and/or grainy at 1080x1440i. I doubt this is an export problem. I tried countless formats MPEG2 (the default) I tried mimicking HDV 25MBS etc I tried MP4 and all look blurry and or grainy. Why does Premier even have to process files before use? I'm no novice and I've played with/checked my sequence settings, project settings etc.
      There must be something off, even cheap pro-sumer programs have native HDV support and can process an HDV video lossless if no effects are added and near-lossless when effects are added.
      Someone please help?
      Thank you in advance =/

• 1. Re: HDV = Grainy & Blurry Why? CS6
          Taverino Level 2

What is the source of your footage? I bring in HDV video (tapeless/M2T) from a Sony Z5U (1440 x 1080p) all the time with PPro CS6 with standard settings and the quality is not grainy or blurry after import and when the final sequence is exported. What do you mean by "Premiere has to process files before use"?

4-6-2013 6-52-12 PM.jpg

• 2. Re: HDV = Grainy & Blurry Why? CS6
            warmkiss Level 1

I origionally got the footage from HDV with another program (pinnacle). This gave me a .M2V File, 2 WAV Files, a SCN file and an XMP File.
            I thought Premier would read that M2V file natively, but it doesn't. What I mean is when I first opened the M2V File with premier it took like 20 minutes "conforming" (on the bottom right of sequence 01) after saing processing under the filename in the Media Browser.