6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2013 5:55 AM by JADarnell

(IDCS6 Javascript) Where can I find a list of eventTypes

JADarnell Level 1

I am new to Javascripting, so I am still trying to learn where everything is in the documentation. 

I have figured out that I probably need to use an eventListener in order to make something happen (I am assuming that an eventListener is the same as an observer in the C++ SDK).  I cannot, however, find a list of "eventType"s for use in the first parameter of the addEventListener function call.  To be specific I want to open a new dialog when the user selects a particular radiobutton.

I think I need two things to figure out this puzzle:

I need to know where a list of eventTypes may be found for each widget, and

I need to be able to examine an example of how eventListeners are actually used in InDesign CS6 Javascript.

I did a search on sample scripts and found no examples.

Please be advised that this is a CS6 project on the Mac.

• 1. Re: (IDCS6 Javascript) Where can I find a list of eventTypes
          Olav Kvern Level 1

Hi JADarnell,

It all depends on what you're asking, exactly. When you say you want to open another dialog when the user selects a radio button, we need to know how you're creating the dialog in the first place. There are two main ways to do this--1.) using InDesign's built-in dialog object, or 2.) using ScriptUI, which is an ExtendScript object. How can you tell which is which? If you're using app.dialogs.add() to create the dialog box, you're using the InDesign object; if you're not, you're using ScriptUI.