5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2007 7:08 PM by ntsiii

handling event listeners - returns from async queries...

cmarkiewicz
      i'm a longtime programmer, but relatively new to async calls. so i think i'm missing something basic...

when my current flex screen loads, it performs three queries to pre-populate the screen. first query is the "header" record, second query gets the "line item" records, and the third query gets values for a picklist which will be in the data grid. (note that i'm querying a web service - although i doubt that matters much...)

when each query is finished and the local objects (ArrayCollections, etc) are populated, i want to perform a specific action. So my first thought is to write three "handle*QueryComplete" methods, and add an event listener to the connection before each query. So these three lines will appear in my code:
      apex.addEventListener(QueryEvent.QUERY_EVENT, handleHeaderQueryCompleted);
      apex.addEventListener(QueryEvent.QUERY_EVENT, handleLineItemQueryCompleted);
      apex.addEventListener(QueryEvent.QUERY_EVENT, handleProdQueryCompleted);

But then when one qeury finishes, it will call all three handle* methods, right? How am I supposed to do this so that when each query completes, it performs the proper action?

thanks for your time
      chris
        • 1. Re: handling event listeners - returns from async queries...
          batmitra Level 1
          hi
          you must use a Dispatch event after each query is finished that is something like this

DispatchEvent(QueryEvent) i don't know exactly the syntax but search for dispatch event ond docs.

Although you might have your reasons, why don't you use the result property of webservices?

Width flex you can make in each operation like this

<webservice id="mywebservice" wsdl="mypath">
          <operation name="mywebserviceoperationname" result="What i want to do when data arrives(event)/>
          </webservice>