10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2013 12:20 PM by vincem120

JavaScript CS4 vs CS6

vincem120

I have an old awesome HDR blending script that was written for Photoshop CS3-CS4 but will not run on CS6. Not being a programmer, I still would like to try and upgrade the script, but don't know where to start. Are there major differences in the JavaScript scripting between the two versions?

• 1. Re: JavaScript CS4 vs CS6
          Michael L Hale Level 5

Is there any error message? It could be something as simple as a poorly planned version check that didn't take future version in to account.

For the most part, scripts written for older versions work fine in newer versions. The main differences in scripting between versions are new features of newer versions so normally a problem of a script not working in older versions. Execptions being dropped features and new scripting bugs.

I think there were changes in HDR between CS4 and CS6 but it is hard to say, without seeing the script, why it will not run in CS6.

• 2. Re: JavaScript CS4 vs CS6
            vincem120 Level 1

Hi Michael,

Thank you very much for your reply! The script does not actually use Photoshop's native HDR feature, but rather blends bracketed RAW images into a single RAW file with an extended tonal range, so I think I'm clear of that possibility.

There is no error message, it actually crashes the program. I will try and verify the version check if any, just in case, but I fear it is more serious. Otherwise, knowing that there aren't that many changes and scripts are normally forward-compatible is encouraging. I'll look for a bug or a dropped feature, and hopefully get help from the toolkit.

• 3. Re: JavaScript CS4 vs CS6
              Michael L Hale Level 5

If you use ExtendScript Toolkit you can run the script one line at a time. That may give you a better idea of where the problem is.