4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2007 9:10 AM by Haravikk the Horse

Advanced XML connections

Haravikk the Horse
      Hey there!

I'm fairly new to Flex development so please excuse my ignorance if I've just managed to miss some feature or API completely!

My situation is this:
      I wish to develop a program which will communicate with my server via a high-performance XML connection using a (currently proprietary, open-source later) binary XML format. Since I'm the one who has been writing the code for it in Java I have full access to the source to port to Flex/action-script. What I'm wondering is what (if any) is the standard API for XML parsers (readers/writers)? My format is a StAX ("pull") parser for XML streams, and I have classes that allow me to use XPaths efficiently over it.
      I would like very much to make it using a standard Flex API, extending where required to leverage additional features, as this would be more useful I think in future when I release it as an open-source project.

Further to this, I will be hoping to use this with an SSL connection to keep data private, I am wondering if Flex already has SSL functionality, and how fast it is?

Please don't dispute the use of binary XML here, since I'm communicating between two parties then readability isn't an issue (except debugging, in which case it's easy to output as text with a third party, or by dropping in a regular XML reader/writer). For my intended data-set I get around a 40-50% reduction in message size, haven't tested relative performance compared to text-XML parsers, but it should be faster since it doesn't need to do much work.

So I'm looking for an idea of what I should implement or extend and what I will need to develop from scratch to make this work? My aim is to develop this as an AIR application, but may compile for browser as well since I have no major requirement for local storage.

Cheers
        • 1. Re: Advanced XML connections
          ntsiii Level 3