9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2013 3:00 PM by jrh217

named host support?

jrh217

First - I love this product. It's really making mobile development easier. Good job guys!

I seem to have a problem getting named hosts to work with Adobe Edge Inspect. I'm a developer with several projects running locally on my machine with hosts set up for each one (i.e., project.local, anotherproject.local). Apache's running using named based virtual hosting to serve the files. The problem is it only ever serves the first, or default, host configuration. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong?

As a workaround I've been moving the site I want to inspect into the default spot in the hosts file, and it seems to work great. It would be nice if I didn't have to finagle with my vhosts conf file each time I want to inspect :)

Jeremy

• 1. Re: named host support?
          Mark_Rausch Adobe Employee

Thanks for the kudos

Edge Inspect can't directly make use of named hosts because the devices aren't able to read the hosts file from your computer. We've coded the clients to understand "localhost", "127.0.0.1", and "<machinename>.local" addresses and replace them with the IP address we're talking to, but can't do much more than that.

However, there is a workaround for using named hosts, described in this blog post: http://blogs.adobe.com/edgeinspect/2012/06/19/shadow-xip-io-virtual-hosts-workflow-simplif ied/

Hope this helps,

Mark

• 2. Re: named host support?
            jrh217 Level 1

Ah, makes sense. Thanks for the workaround, that'll be great!

• 3. Re: named host support?
              var3121

Hello Jeremy,

I cant even achieve what you initially stated - getting inspect to show an apache serverd local site via IP, 127, localhost or machinename.local.

They show up in the browser, but inspect just ignores it. Ie keeps displaying whatever page it displayed last.

Can you elaborate on how you got it to see the first site in your hosts file?

thanks,

alvar