17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2013 1:24 PM by ChrisDixon

Quarter Page Booklet

ChrisDixon

Hello,

Thank you in advance for your help. I'm still very new to InDesign and have been trying to figure this out for two weeks!

I am trying to make a quarter page booklet in InDesign. When I print I'd like to cut a letter size sheet of paper in half long ways and then fold in half (final measurement 4.25W X 5.5L). I've set up a document with the dementions set to 4.25W X 5.5L and can lay it all out correctly. When I go to File > Print Booklet > Preview it doesn't look like it'll print correct. Idealy, when I print the documents out back and front on letter size sheets and then cut in half long ways, I'd two booklets out of each.

Is this possible? Thank you again!

• 1. Re: Quarter Page Booklet
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

It's possible, but not intuitive. Create a regular file as facing pages with the page size set to your quarter-page dimensions.

Now make a second file, but set up as half-page dimensions. Download Scott Zanelli's script from InDesignSecrets » Blog Archive » Zanelli Releases MultiPageImporter for Importing both PDF and INDD Files and run it twice to place the original file two times in the new file.

Now you can run Print Booklet and you will get two booklets side by side on a single sheet.

• 2. Re: Quarter Page Booklet
            Daniel Flavin Level 4

The Print Booklet feature of InDesign is not robust enough to accomplish multiple up and saddle-stiched imposition.

You may find the easiest course being -

Print Booklet - Adobe PDF as the Printer. Custom Paper size will yield an imposed 8.5 x 5.5 pdf.

There are scripts for placing that pdf into a new InDesign document (you may already have one in the Scripts Panel > Samples), but assuming you started with less than 100 pages, you can place it manually in little time.

Script search keywords- Scott Zanelli Import Multiple Page InDesign Script