17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2008 3:20 AM by scrfix

Liquid Layouts - Weird Effects??

scrfix Level 1
      I am a beginner in AS3.
      I am looking to have a liquid layout in my flash. I have the AS already written now and it is working however I am getting some very weird effects so I must have something done incorrectly.

The effect that I am going for is
      If someone resizes the browser window, I want all of the instances on the flash to resize properly as well.
      When different resolutions look at the flash header everything increases or decreases as necessary so that the header looks good and goes all the way across the screen.

Like the following website:
      http://www.senocular.com/demo/Layout/examples/StageResize.html

Can someone help me with what I am doing wrong?

I believe the following two lines are incorrect.
      call_mc.scaleX = stage.width * .5;
      call_mc.scaleY = stage.height * .5;

[code]
      public class NoScale extends MovieClip
      {
      public function NoScale()
      {
      stage.addEventListener(Event.RESIZE,onResize);
      stage.align = "TL"; // Top left align the stage
      stage.scaleMode = "noScale"; // items do not stretch to fit
      }
      public function onResize(event:Event)
      {
      // In the event call a method to move the items
      // or, call each item here to be sized
      //call_mc.x = stage.width/2;
      //call_mc.y = stage.height/2;
      call_mc.scaleX = stage.width * .5;
      call_mc.scaleY = stage.height * .5;
      //call_mc is just 1 movie instance on I have the stage. There are around 20 more.

// ... etc
      }
      }
      }
      [/code]

Thanks,
      Wayne
        • 1. Re: Liquid Layouts - Weird Effects??
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          i'll say. scaleX and scaleY vary between 0 and 1 and it's pretty unlikely stage.width and stage.height are going to vary between 0 and 2. fix that.
          • 2. Re: Liquid Layouts - Weird Effects??