2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2006 10:39 AM by bregent

My very first form

TCarp Level 1
      For my very first form I want to create one where a visitor can submit an email address. I've been on the net learning as much as I can but I'd like to verify I'm understanding what I'm reading.

I want to verify for a valid email address. It looks like there are a number of scripts that will do that. I'm studying the scripts that are available to see if I can understand them. Then I want the form sent via email. I've read that the new browsers don't support mailto so I went to my host (GoDaddy) and they seem to have a couple handlers. The cgi email handler I assume is the one I want. All they ask for is an email address set up on the account.

How does the form get sent to the email handler?

And can someone help me understand what this example is doing? Found it while doing research.

function emailinput_on()
      {
      if(document.getElementById("email-addr").value=="Your email address")
      {
      document.getElementById("email-addr").value = "";
      }
      }

function emailinput_off()
      {
      if(document.getElementById("email-addr").value=="")
      {
      document.getElementById("email-addr").value = "Your email address";
      }
      }

function validate_email()
      {
      var alertbg = "#345f91";
      var okbg = "#ffffff";

var email_regex = /^\w+([\.-]?\w+)*@\w+([\.-]?\w+)*(\.\w{2,})+$/;

if(!email_regex.test(document.getElementById("email-addr").value))
      {
      document.getElementById("email-addr").style.background = alertbg;
      document.getElementById("email-addr").focus();
      return false;
      }
      else
      {
      document.getElementById("email-addr").style.background = okbg;
      return true;
      }
      }

It goes with this form:

<form id="email-signup" action="email-thankyou.htm" method="post" onSubmit="return validate_email()">
      <p>