6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2007 6:00 AM by antonyjpharris

Flex and ORACLE

antonyjpharris
      Hi,

I am new to Flex and I am impressed with the ease of use and the presentation capabilities but I need to know the easiest way to connect to an ORACLE database, because I want to use it to build a prototype for a financial application. I don't have much experience in this area and was hoping there would be a straight-forward way to achieve this?

I have installed ORACLE 10g express, Flex Builder 2 and LiveCycle Data Services (formerly Flex Data Services), with integrated JRun application server.

What should I do next? I would be grateful for any advice.

Thanks, Antony
        • 1. Re: Flex and ORACLE
          mrs_kariem
          If you get a solution please inform me because I have the same problem
          • 2. Re: Flex and ORACLE
            Level 7
            I'll ask whether Oracle 10g Express is supported and report back. However,
            although not for this exact server, have you seen any of the instructions
            at this location?

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/livecycle/es/lcds_installation.html#oc4j

• 3. Re: Flex and ORACLE
              Level 7
              Sorry, I see that you're actually asking how to use Flex to contact an Oracle
              database.

There are couple of options....

You could use a J2EE application server and write either JSP pages or a Java
              Servlet to do data base queries on your behalf using JDBC and return XML
              to the Flex client using <mx:HTTPService>.

Or, you could similarly use LCDS and connect to a plain old java object (that
              also uses JDBC) that you configure as a remoting service destination and
              contact it using <mx:RemoteObject>. The difference here is that you'll get
              better performance and be able to return strongly typed objects back to ActionScript.

Or, you could use a nifty feature like LCDS's data management services with