13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2014 5:06 PM by R Neil Haugen

iPhone video to .mov HELP!

JShelley85

I have uploaded, edited and exported a bunch of videos shot from iPhones. They were told to use the cameras in landscape position so all of the video would be the same size. I'm new to this and when I exported the video to .mov the video images are distorted (they have tracers). Everything gets blurred with the tracers. How can I fix this?

• 1. Re: iPhone video to .mov HELP!
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Use the right tool for the job:

• Use a phone to make calls
          • Use a video camera to shoot video
          • Use a hammer to drive nails into wood
          • Use a boat to cross a lake
          • etc.

You don't use a boat or a hammer to shoot video, do you?

• 2. Re: iPhone video to .mov HELP!
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Do the MOV files use variable Frame Rates?

That can be highly problematic in PrPro, as it needs to work with fixed Frame Rates. Many have found that if they run their variable Frame Rate iPhone footage through Apple's QT Pro (do not know if QT Player - non-Pro can do this), and then Export, the Frame Rate will be fixed.

The variable Frame Rate works OK for playing the files on the iPhone, or iPad.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: iPhone video to .mov HELP!
              Steven L. Gotz Level 5

I shoot video with an Android phone so I can't offer an opinion on how to convert the video. However, if you are willing to post a sample I would be happy to take a look at it and likely provide a solution. I am a pretty good technician and can often find a way to do things. I have to ask why you are converting? What is it that you need to convert it? Isn't it H.264 or MP4, meaning you should just leave it that way for editing in Premiere Pro. Why convert to MOV in the first place?

In any case,