3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2013 1:15 PM by Brett N

Workflow for post processing offline images

Keith_Andrews

I'm a professional real estate photographer who normally edits his own images after a photoshoot. I've recently become so busy that I'd like to outsource the post processing of my images to another individual who also uses Photoshop.

Is there a way to send this individual lower resolution images so he can work on them and then have him send me the metadata from his edits, so I can apply them to the images I have on my system? The reason for this question is because I'd like to minimize the size of the images I'm sending to the editor, but still be able to produce high resolution stills.

I understand there is a way to work with RAW images and save the metadata, but that doesn't fix the file size issue, and you can only save certain aspects like white balance, levels, etc... I really need a way to capture his history and save that to a file, that way if he were to use a certain filter, or brush on the image, the same results would be applied to my images.

Thanks in advance for your help!

• 1. Re: Workflow for post processing offline images
          Brett N Adobe Employee

Any edits performed in Adobe Camera Raw can be saved to metadata and then applied to another file. But if you are looking for edits performed in Photoshop proper, then the best you are going to get is saving the history to the file. This can be enabled in the Preferences under the General settings. At the bottom you'll see a section for History Log. You can then use this information to recreate the edits.

Depending on the type of edits, you may have have the edited files saved as PSD and then Place the full resolution version of the file to replace the low-res version (and increase the size of the canvas).

• 2. Re: Workflow for post processing offline images
            Keith_Andrews Level 1