1 2 Previous Next 43 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2013 12:19 PM by station_two

Inadequate camera raw 6.4.1 updates for CS5

MDS167

Why are CS5 users not able to upgrade the camera raw supported camera lists?  Camera Raw 6.4.1(Camera Raw 7 doesn't support CS5) is not being upgraded as new cameras come to market. For example I bought a D7100 Nikon and now have to use the DNG converter. As a pro I am forced to go through another step that may degrade the image.

Are there any work arunds or 3rd party plug ins for this?

Adobe has dropped the ball in this by forcing the users to do upgrades they may not be able to afford.

• 1. Re: Inadequate camera raw 6.4.1 updates for CS5
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

i believe you are incorrect about adobe "dropping the ball" on this issue:  adobe has made available (for free) dng converter which can be used to convert your raw files:  http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=5569

• 2. Re: Inadequate camera raw 6.4.1 updates for CS5
            Yammer Level 4

You can upgrade as far at 6.7 on CS5, which is well worth it anyway, as you get better processing and automatic CA correction.

• 3. Re: Inadequate camera raw 6.4.1 updates for CS5
              MDS167 Level 1

I used DNG converter for 200 shots.

Now I have  an extra folder and have used a bunch of storage as well as the extra time.

It is just another layer of work.

I don't understand why they can't support CS5 for more than a couple of years.

I am sure Nikon and other brands would like Adobe to be more supportive.

• 4. Re: Inadequate camera raw 6.4.1 updates for CS5
                JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP