8 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2013 1:22 PM by Docmhz

Multiply two fields then divide

Docmhz

Hello,

I need to get the sum of two fields and then divide that by 100 on a form I've created. I'm new to this, so any help is much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Multiply two fields then divide
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Programming is in the details.

how-to-do-not-so-simple-form-calculations by Thom Parker.

Without the exact field names it is pretty hard to provide much help.

• 2. Re: Multiply two fields then divide
            Docmhz Level 1

I thought the Simplified field would work for me, but it doesn't do what I think it should do.

I need to multiply a field names "Line3xLine4" and a field named "DiscountFactor" and have that sum divided by 100.

I tried the Simplified field and this is what I came up with:

(Line2xLine4*DiscountFactor)/100

This gives me a 0 as an answer.

Thanks again for the help!

• 3. Re: Multiply two fields then divide

White space is used to parse the field name, operands, and constants in the Simplified Field Notation. It also makes reading the code easier.

Are you getting any errors in the JavaScript console?

Also field formatting is important. If you "DiscountFactor" is formatted as a percentage and you have correct percentage value displaying do not divide by 100. The decimal place of the field has already been adjusted for calculations.

• 4. Re: Multiply two fields then divide
                Docmhz Level 1

I'm not getting any errors, and I do not have the Discount Factor field formatted other than for 2 decimal places.

I need to either be able to divide the sum by 100 to make it an accurate $ number or be able to multiply "Line3xLine4" by "DiscountFactor" as a percentage. The users will enter the "DiscountFactor" field as a whole number, i.e. 97.5%.

Is there any easier way to do this?

Thanks

• 5. Re: Multiply two fields then divide