5 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2013 6:41 AM by AttilaHan

How images come to on the surface of our monitors ...

AttilaHan Level 1

I'm a newbie in color management and I want to ask a question to a real color guru ... thanks a lot in advance.

When we look at the sRGB monitor, the image we see in ACR, comes to us with the following steps:

1. Linear raw image,

2. Linear RGB data after demosaicing,

3. Linear input profile interprets the RGB data created by demosaicing process and send them to the PCS for step 4,

4. Gamma encoded any color space we choose as a working space (ProPhoto RGB for example),

5. sRGB, at the monitor ... we see these sRGB image on our monitors.

Are all these steps correct?

Or, any missing step?

And, additionally, input profiles are always linear?

• 1. Re: How images come to on the surface of our monitors ...
          thedigitaldog MVP & Adobe Community Professional

First, depends on what software and where you view this data. Yes, the raw data is linearly encoded. At least in Adobe raw processors, that isn't anything you 'see and react to'. At some point, whatever happens under the hood, you've got a very wide gamut, high bit data source that when asked to soft proof to sRGB does a transform to produce that preview and resulting histogram and RGB values. What you see, what numbers you view based on a soft proof only show you what would result if you render the raw data in that fashion. ACR as yet has no soft proofing expect for the four color spaces (sRGB being one) but Lightroom does allow any RGB profiles to be used in this area. In ACR, in the workflow settings you can select sRGB, the RGB numbers and histogram are provided. There are no ICC profiles, there can be DNG profiles and I do believe but not 100% certain that those profiles react if you will, with linear data at this time in the processing path.

• 2. Re: How images come to on the surface of our monitors ...
            D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP