8 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2013 10:45 AM by Jeff Schewe

History behind Photoshop's original filters

Am05 Level 1

Hey all,

I'm trying to get a little background info on Photoshop's inspiration, specifically for filters and its history related to photography. Eons ago, when I was a student, I remember reading in my old graphic design manuals a snippet on Photoshop's filters and their origins. From who were the photographer's that influenced that particular style to the techniques that made it possible and how they came into Photoshop.

For some reason, I can't find any info on this on the internet and I've long ago sold my graphic design manual.

Does anyone know a little history behind PS's original filters and the photographer's that experimented with these techniques back in the good ol' days when there were no computers and everything was done manually?

Any links would be helpful.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: History behind Photoshop's original filters
          Noel Carboni Level 8

I believe you must be talking about things like "Unsharp Mask", where a darkroom operator would de-focus an image and make a negative transparency, then layer that negative transparency with the original when doing a print, so as to enhance the contrast of edges.

Wikipedia is a good source, e.g.:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unsharp_masking

The original author of Photoshop is Thomas Knoll (who currently still works with Adobe one the Camera Raw plug-in). Perhaps using his name might help you in your searches for the original thinking that went into Photoshop. I'm sure I've seen descriptions of the early work on Photoshop out there.

-Noel

• 2. Re: History behind Photoshop's original filters
            JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Noel are you back with us? Your timeout is it over?

• 3. Re: History behind Photoshop's original filters
              Semaphoric Adobe Community Professional