19 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2013 10:00 PM by Kar209

Can't Alt+double click to open an image?

Kar209 Level 1

hello:                                                                                                             Level: Newbie  Id:Cs6  Os:Win8

i have read that Win8 is compatible with Id, Ps and Illy (i'm not sure about the other CC apps but i hope they are too)

however, while following a vid tut by Terry White ~ he directed me to click on an image and to then hold the Alt key while double clicking to open it in full(er) view but when i did this the image opened in Windows Photo Gallery

well, earlier i had gone to Default Programs and set Windows Photo Gallery as the default to open images ~ not knowing it would prevent Id from functioning or that it would override (apparently) everything else (yes, i am pretty new to OS's in general too) i did this b/c when i would go to my Pictures folders and click on an image to view it was opening in some AWEFUL program that depixelated (<is that a word?) /made my pics/images look just terrible.

so, i called Microsoft and the man that was trying to help me said that i had to go to "Associate a File Type or Protocol with a Program" and then i had to choose Each and Every Single File Type (.png, .jpeg, .tiff etc etc) for Each and Every Application (Adobe or not) and "Associate" that File Type with the Application i need for it to open ... um ... caugh caugh ... just a moment .... SCREAM!! uh, what? Really?

Dear goodness ... please say it ain't so!! please?? (lol)

so, is this really the deal? or does anyone else think i may have been directed incorrectly?

i went back to Default Programs to remove Windows Photo Gallery as the Default program but i am not seeing where that is an option.