3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2006 12:35 PM by Renaun_Erickson

Flex2 and databases

Darie_
      hi everyone

i'm a totally noob in flex/flash whatsoever ex macromedia technology.
      but lately i've had a new challange to respond on: a db centrical cross-platform application. and searching the net i've found felx2 wich seems perfect (except java, wich is not quite friendly to what i intend to do) to do my work. well, at one detail near: the db connection. i know flash likes to work with xml and i found berkeley's xml db server. wich stores data as xml and you can bild xquery requests. ( http://www.sleepycat.com/products/bdbxml.html )

my question is: does flex2 works with that system without the intermediate of any other "buffer" like interpretor ?
      if yes, a howto will be greatly appreciated :)

ty all & keep up the good work
        • 1. Re: Flex2 and databases
          Renaun_Erickson Level 1
          Flash supports Sockets, AMF, SOAP/XML, and REST to communicate to external systems. To be able to communicate to a database you have to use one of these methods of communication.
          • 2. Re: Flex2 and databases
            refugeo
            I am even more nooby...I would like to use flex to display simple Access database records using flex/ cold fusion OR dreamweaver/cold fusion with flex implementation configured. I am finding lots of information...far to much, but no actual tutorial that tells me in simple language how this is done step by step. Does this exsist?

Why do I feel like I am playing the game Myst learning Flex?

Also what does AMF & REST mean?

Thanks...
            • 3. Re: Flex2 and databases
              Renaun_Erickson Level 1
              REST is Representational State Transfer, in Flex you use HTTPService to use it in Flash you use loadVars.

AMF is Action Message Format, its a Adobe format for binary transfer of data. You use RemoteObject in Flex and Flash Remoting in Flash.