25 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2013 7:46 AM by preditorj40153117

most efficient way to browse MTS files

preditorj40153117 Level 1

I have been using mts for about 2 years now.

when i get my sd car out of my cameras i usually dump and then browse in Premier.

However this is getting quite old and it takes a hell of a long time to go thru 5-10 sd cards this way.

Is there an app that i can use to view the mts files like its a qt movie?

with .mov i can just plug the card into my sd reader and browse within finder. dont have to import or open an nle.

I know that .mov is native in osx but is there a way of getting some plug that would allow my mac to treat the mts the same?

• 1. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files
          Jim_Simon Level 8

I use Bridge for this.

• 2. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files

Maybe i need to install a codec or something.

brshot.png

• 3. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files
              Jim_Simon Level 8

I think you need CS6 for it to work.

• 4. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files
                Allynn Wilkinson Level 2

I use VLC:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html

Free, works on Mac/Windows, opens parts of spanned clips, will open anything (even horribly corrupted files!).  I don't advocate using it to convert (though some people do) but it's great to look at things fast

Allynn

• 5. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files
                  Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Did you update the Bridge.

In the Bridge MTS has been supported for quite some time now.

1 person found this helpful
                  • 6. Re: most efficient way to browse MTS files

Luckily, I have both Masters cs5 & 6. Bridge in CS6 worked great. Thats what i needed, and the added benefit of being able to name them right in bridge solves everything.

Whooo Weeeee !!! 

This saves me about 6-10hrs a week.