7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2006 12:37 AM by kglad

Mute button

deltaek
      Using a button to mute sound, I have inserted this code:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------------------
      on (release) {
      tellTarget ("mymusic") {
      volume (0);
      }
      }
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------------------

It doesn't work and I don't know how to fix it. Any ideas? I don't want the sound to stop but rather to stay in sync with the movie and just be muted.

on (release) {
      tellTarget ("mymusic") {
      play ();
      }
      }

Works for my play button.

Thanks,

Elaine
        • 1. Re: Mute button
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          try:

• 2. Re: Mute button
            deltaek Level 1
            What is this replacing? I tried several options and none worked. As you can tell, I'm new to this.

Thanks!
            • 3. Re: Mute button
              NSurveyor Level 2
              Well you haven't given much to work with. For instance, what is mymusic? Is it a MovieClip or an instance of the Sound class? If the latter, you would use the line kglad specified in your mute button, and in the unmute button: mymusic.setVolume(100);

However, if this is a MovieClip, it won't work. You can create an instance of the Sound class to control the MovieClip's volume. Read this to learn how to make a good mute button: http://www.quip.net/blog/2006/flash/how-to-toggle-sound-globally

(by the way, tellTarget is really old; use dot notation and possibly with(...){...})
              • 4. Re: Mute button
                deltaek Level 1
                It is a movie clip that runs in sync with actions (1800 frames in all). I read the article to the link and it still doesn't help me. All it did was confuse me more...