8 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2013 3:46 AM by camem_bert

IDML best for proofreading work process?

camem_bert

Hello All,

I'm a translator and proofreader and right now working on a German-French Magazine centered on politics and economy.

The way proofreading was done up to now was manual: the layout people sent pdfs to proofreaders, they made comments/corrections, these were manually entered by the layouters. Time-consuming and source of errors.

I'm thinking of using the IDML format for a quicker workflow. The layouters could export the texts as IDML-files, the proofreaders would directly correct the texts, the layouters would only have to readjust the texts.

But maybe there are better ways? I'm curious to hear your comments and suggestions! Especially regarding, InCopy, which I know only by name.

Regards,

camembert

• 1. Re: IDML best for proofreading work process?
          Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

When you say "the proofreaders would directly correct the texts," do you mean "the proofreaders would open up the IDML in their translation tool of choice?" Because personally I'd rather eat glass than work on IDML directly in TagEditor. But then again, I hate TagEditor. And I have very few translators whom I'd trust with any tool that directly exposed the IDML markup. It'd work better in SDL 2011 or memoQ, or something similar, but these tools have very little market-share in my segment.

InCopy is the best tool for this job, assuming that the prooferaders are technically competent and need to be looking at the layout while they correct the text. Our translation providers are mostly not willing to work in InCopy, so I run a wide variety of InDesign -> Word -> InDesign workflows. Each of these workflows has its own idiosyncracies, which I'd be willing to detail, but if you don't have a bunch of balky providers who will only work in Word, you probably don't need this option.