8 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2013 10:43 PM by mkudisch

Seeking advice on my first build, $3000 budget, please critique. Thanks!

mkudisch

Hey all,

Been lurking around here for some time now and I must say it's been interesting. A bit of background before we get to the good part: I'm a freelance website designer (one that does a lot of graphic design), so my workhorses are Ps and Ai, but lately I've been getting more and more freelance film work. I've reached a crossroads as my current system struggles to handle the load in Pr, especially in AE. I've decided to build a kickass system that will hopefully improve my workflow enough to take me more down the film path (in addition to dominating my Ps and Ai needs). This will be my first build, so all advice is welcome and much appreciated. I've tried pretty hard to do some research before posting, and here's what I've come up with:

The Build:

CategoryMy ChoicePrice($USD)Comments
      CPUIntel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor569.99Is it worth waiting until the Ivy Bridge 4930K comes out? Looks like that won't be till the fall..
      GPUEVGA 04G-P4-3687-KR GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card589.99Would you choose the 680 over the 580?
      moboASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard324.99I honestly know nothing about mobos.. should I be concerned that this is from 2011? Is this overkill?
      RAMKingston 64GB (4 x 16GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 ECC Registered Server Memory DR x4 Model 519.99Is Kingston a good brand? This seems like quite a deal.