5 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2013 8:26 AM by project_c

Importing animation from PS, transparent background

project_c

I've seen a few very confusing posts here about this so I'm going to ask this in the most straightforward way possible:

I have an animation project open in After Effects. I have made a short animation in Photoshop, which I want to import, and place into my project in After Effects. The character in the animation I want to import has a white fill, and a transparent background around him. I would like to retain the transparency of the background, as well as the white fill within the character.

Can any of Photoshop's video formats embed transparency? What format would the animation need to be for After Effects to recognise the background transparency? (I know I can multiply in AE and place a white fill layer underneath, but I'm wondering if there's an easier way).

Probably an obvious question, I'm a Photoshop veteran but an AE noob, so forgive the potential ignorance. Thanks

• 1. Re: Importing animation from PS, transparent background
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here's where a screenshot would help a bunch. Anything you create as an RGB file in Photoshop will import into After Effects as a comp or as Merged layers and maintain transparency and look. The only thing you might loose are some layer styles. Layer groups come in as pre-comps but everything else should work unless you are doing something weird.

You have the option to export as a movie. Animation High Quality and JPEG 2000 support alpha channels and are good choices. Check the bottom of the output popup and select Export Alpha Channel and Straight Unmatted is the preferred format for AE and almost all NLE's.

If in doubt, try a test with 3 or 4 frames. It only takes a few seconds to export a few frames and create a test.