4 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2013 6:47 PM by Neobus78

Javascript - Working with Dates, Selection Boxes & Pro-Rated Amounts to Calculate Costs

Neobus78

Hi, I'm looking for some help. I'm new to Javascript and working off my limited knowledge. Below are three (3) items I need help figuring out.

---JavaScript 1: Today---

I have a Document Level Javascript that gets the current date and automatically enters it into a field. Below is the example:

var f = this.getField("Today");f.value = util.printd("mm/dd/yyyy", new Date());

Problem: Each time I open the PDF, the date gets updated.

Need: I would like for the date to only be updated if the field is blank (empty).

---JavaScript 2: Registration Fee---

On this same form (application) I would like to calculate TWO costs. The first cost is mandatory registration cost, however the amount is prorated based on the month the application is filled out. Below is the pro-rated amounts based on the remaining months in the year:

Months Remaining     Fee

12                       $15.00

11                       $13.75

10                       $12.50

9                         $11.25

8                         $10.00

7                         $8.75

6                         $7.50

5                         $6.25

4                         $5.00

3                         $3.75

2                         $2.50

1                         $1.25

Note: The cost per month is $1.25. You are required to pay for the current month plus any remaining months.

So let's assume that you fill the application out in May 15th (05/18/2013). There are eight (8) months remaining in the year [May - Dec], so the pro-rated cost is $10.00 (See chart above).