4 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2013 1:36 PM by BugMcVagh

Chronosphere effect

BugMcVagh

Hello everyone!
      I would like to create an animated logo for my youtube channel. The basic idea is switching from the logo to the title with an effect that looks like the Westwood logo from the game Red Alert (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABDm2JcnTPs from 2:00). I got the logo as a vector artwork. Now I'm kind of new to the program, and I have no idea where to start, how does a transition like this called? How can it be solved? Many thanks!

• 1. Re: Chronosphere effect
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It's not a single "Which button must I push?" effect. I see lots of glow, opacity animation, a fractal noise overlay, a lens flare, possibly otehr things, but well, frankly, if you have no prior experience none of that probably means anything to you and I could talk to the wall. It may be rude, but really, start by watching some basic tutorials.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Chronosphere effect
            BugMcVagh Level 1

I didn't expected it to be simple. But yeah, thanks for naming them, it helps.

• 3. Re: Chronosphere effect
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm going to teach you how to analyze an effect by breaking it down.

A still frame is a good place to start. Let's start with the first major effect:

sample.jpeg

That splotchy stuff with the blown out look overlaid on the logo is a noise pattern that could be created with fractal noise. The blown out areas can be achieved by setting the blend mode of the noise layer to Add. The ever increasing intensity can be achieved through a combination of opacity changes and brightness and contrast animation in fractal noise.

An easy way to mask the fractal noise layer so it just is added to the logo is to use a copy of the logo as a track matte for the layer.