10 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2013 5:28 AM by Chris_1942

Object interaction problem

Chris_1942

Hi there

I suppose i should introduce myself My name is Chris and i'm currently making a project to do with the Korean conflict. I am a total noob at this and am bumbling along at a slow pace aha.

Basically at the moment i have a rocket(movieclip) which moves with this code.

onClipEvent (load){

step=5;

movieWith=550;

movieHeight=380;

}

onClipEvent ( enterFrame ){

if ( Key.isDown (Key.RIGHT) and this._x < movieWith ){this._x+=step;}

if ( Key.isDown (Key.LEFT) and this._x >0){this._x-=step;}

if ( Key.isDown (Key.UP) and this._y >0){this._y-=step;}

if ( Key.isDown (Key.DOWN) and this._y <movieHeight){this._y+=step;}

}

I then want the rocket when it touches buttons to trigger a text box for each button to appear and then when the rocket moves away from the buttons for the text to disappear. I have been searching around but cannot find anything of use and was hoping someone in the community could help maybe.

Thanks for taking your time to read this.

Regards Chris

• 1. Re: Object interaction problem
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You will need to incorporate a function that performs a hitTest of the rocket against all of the buttons each time the rocket is moved.  If a hitTest is detected, the elements associated with it are displayed, if not, they are hidden.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Object interaction problem
            Chris_1942 Level 1

Hi Ned thanks for the reply.

I have put this code but as i am ultra amateur i am getting errors.

I have put this code on the movieclip where the text is needed to appear.

onClipEvent(enterFrame) {

if(Rocket1.hitTest(Firstpoint)}

{

this.Firstpoint.text.gotoAndStop("27")

}

Frame 27 is where i have just randomely put the text to appear but i am receiving errors from the actionscript which i have wrote.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Object interaction problem