7 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2013 4:36 PM by Jim_Simon

working with adobe premiere cs6 on multiple computers

jon66x

Hello,

I work in a school and we are currently using premiere cs6. We have a major issue with working on multiple machines that I can't seem to find a solution for online. The problem exists with the media cache. I understand that when opening a very large project for the first time, it will take 20-30 minutes to conform all of the audio and cache all of the mpg files. unfortunately, when working on muliple machines, this can be a bit excessive. Everytime the project is opened on a new machine it takes 20-30 minutes to open the project again. We thought that if we moved the media cache and database folders with us, from machine to machine, that it wouldnot have to cache and conform everything again, but that doesn't seem to be working. Even with all of the cache folders copied from the other machine over to the new one, it still goes through the tedious process of conforming and caching when it is opened on a new computer. How does someone use the software on mulitple machines with out having to go through this excessively long process of opening the project??

• 1. Re: working with adobe premiere cs6 on multiple computers
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you configure your project according to http://forums.adobe.com/thread/919388?tstart=0 AND you make it so your project drive has the same letter on all computers you MAY be able to do what you want

But, I don't know if what I just wrote will help... PPro is really not designed (from what I know as a user) for a multi-user environment

Adobe Anywhere http://www.adobe.com/products/adobeanywhere.html may do what you want... when it is released

• 2. Re: working with adobe premiere cs6 on multiple computers
            Jim_Simon Level 8

How does someone use the software on multiple machines

Generally, we don't.  I'd ask the reverse.  Why are you?