3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2007 5:19 PM by ntsiii

Simple Code Question

BigBaldGuy
      I'm confused. I'm researching flex for my company. I'm the owner and I'm a database guy. I'm not a programer. below are two grids. The first one uses the first two lines of the mx:WebService. The second one needs all three lines of the mx:WebService and the entire mx:Script block.

Here is the Question... Why in the world would you code with the mx:Script block. It seems like a waste of energy. Can some one give me the pro's and cons.

Keep in mind as a database guy I'm in LOVE with ColdFusion.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="vertical">

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import mx.collections.ArrayCollection;
      import mx.rpc.events.ResultEvent;

[Bindable]
      private var myData:ArrayCollection;
      private function resultHandler(event:ResultEvent):void {
      myData = event.result as ArrayCollection;
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>

<mx:WebService id="myService"
      wsdl=" http://localhost:8500/flex2/MyService.cfc?wsdl"
      load="myService.getData();" result="resultHandler(event)"/>

<mx:DataGrid dataProvider="{myService.getData.lastResult}"/>
      <mx:DataGrid dataProvider="{myData}"/>

</mx:Application>
        • 1. Re: Simple Code Question
          GarthDB
          If you are not going to do anything with the data besides displaying it in the data grid then you would be fine to use the slimmer code. However to use the data for anything else, or to be more scalable in the future, you would be better to use the script block as it would allow you to manipulate the data or to make it available to other components.
          • 2. Re: Simple Code Question
            Gregory Lafrance Level 6