4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2015 1:15 PM by Ex_Posterboy

How to set a footer include for my multiple indesign documnets

Petrossino

Hi,

I am managing 9 global web sites for company I am working for. Each web site has its own translated documents (40 pdf's) exported as pdf and made in indesign.

Each of these documents have some parts in common such as footer that includes year, locations etc. Now my company needs to add 2 more locations and I am wondering how to make my life easier by adding those.

I am also a web designer and I am use to work with includes so updating one include gets updated all pages that contain that certain include at once.

Is there any possibilitie to do the same in inDesign? It would be really helpfull as do all one by one is just far too time consuming.

Thank u in advance for any helpfull answers.

Petrossino

• 1. Re: How to set a footer include for my multiple indesign documnets
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

This kind o f information should be on a master page in ID that you assign to all of the documents where required. To be able to edit-once/update-many you should make the footer information a separte document, then place that document as a link in the master pages.

• 2. Re: How to set a footer include for my multiple indesign documnets
            Petrossino Level 1

Thanks for the info. I av just about an idea how it might work but is there any tutorial I can follow?

Also all inDesign files get updated at once but then I have to go to each and create pdf anyway right?

• 3. Re: How to set a footer include for my multiple indesign documnets
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I don't know of any tutorial offhand that specifically addresses using a "master document" that you would place into a new file. It's just like placing a graphic, though.